Dec 15, 2007

New Committee for Divine Worship

Online Edition:

December 2007 – January 2008
Vol. XIII, No. 9

New Committee for Divine Worship

Bishop Arthur Serratelli succeeded Bishop Donald Trautman as chairman of the newly re-named Bishops’ Committee for Divine Worship at the close of the November USCCB meeting.

Bishop Serratelli, ordained to the priesthood in 1968, taught theology, Scripture and biblical language studies at Immaculate Conception Seminary at Seton Hall, becoming rector of St. Andrew’s College Seminary at Seton Hall in 1997. He was auxiliary bishop of Newark from 2000-2004, and was installed as bishop of Paterson on July 6, 2004. He has served at the USCCB as chairman of the Doctrine Committee and the Review of Scripture Translations subcommittee, and as a member of the committees for review of the Lectionary and for Liturgy with children, among others. (An article about Bishop Serratelli’s series of columns on the Liturgy appeared in the July-August 2007 issue of AB.)

Bishop Serratelli has named the new members of the BCDW:
Cardinal Justin Rigali of Philadelphia;
Archbishop Daniel Buechlein, OSB of Indianapolis;
Archbishop Charles Chaput, OFM Cap. of Denver;
Archbishop Wilton Gregory of Atlanta;
Archbishop George Niederauer of San Francisco;
Bishop Kevin Farrell of Dallas;
Bishop Ronald Herzog of Alexandria in Louisiana; and
Bishop Octavio Cisneros, Auxiliary of Brooklyn, who will also head the subcommittee for Hispanic Liturgy.
Cardinal Roger Mahony of Los Angeles and Bishop John Vlazny of Portland, Oregon, are consultants.



The Editors